Question The Root Of Creativity

It’s not about creation but connection

Kyle Gulau
4 min readMay 12, 2021
Photo by Joshua Sortino on Unsplash

I realized that I’ve been thinking about creativity all wrong. You might be too. The definition of creativity goes like this:

“The use of imagination or original ideas to solve a problem.”

That definition puts stress and pressure on you to create. You must invent something from thin air. You will solve a problem that no one else could solve.

I don’t think that definition is right. I’ve been happier and more creative when I think about the process of creativity as an import-export business.

Before I get to how to use that system to your advantage, let me explain why the use of imagination and original ideas is overrated and impractical.

Imagination Implies A State Of Mind

“Come on! Use your imagination!” we’re told. “Think outside the box!”

It’s commonplace to believe that imagination is something that you turn “on”. We search for a muse and hope that they join us. Once they arrive, once creativity is “on,” we tell ourselves — we’ll have all the answers.

Marketing guru Seth Godin said,

“I don’t believe in the muse at all. I don’t think there’s any outside force….”

--

--

Kyle Gulau

3x Top Writer 👨‍💻. Editor: Patterns of Development. Interested in: Strategy, Learning, and Real Estate. Rethinker 🧠. Framer 👷‍♂️. Hit FOLLOW ⤵